of the
College of Arts & Science
University of Saskatchewan
106 Wiggins Road
Saskatoon, SK, S7N 5E6, Canada
Phone: (306) 966-6081 - Fax: (306) 966-6086


Mini-workshop on new perspectives in Valuation theory
The Fields Institute, Toronto
March 23-25, 2009

Mini-workshop on Differential Kaplansky Theory
The Fields Institute, Toronto
April 3 and 4, 2009

The Algebra and Logic Group was founded in 1997. It has been approved as a research unit in the College of Arts and Science in August of 2002, and as a research centre in 2005. It is devoted to the study of ordered and valued algebraic structures, their model theory and their applications in various branches of mathematics, as well as other topics in algebra. Areas of research include: real algebra and real algebraic geometry (quadratic forms, spaces of orderings, positivstellensätze, moment problems, optimization), field theory (ordered fields, valued fields, function fields, exponential fields, Hardy Fields), model theoretic algebra (model theory of valued fields, analytic functions, o-minimal structures, exponential-logarithmic power series, power series fields in positive characteristic), local uniformization and resolution of singularities, ordered algebraic structures (lexicographic orderings, ordered vector spaces, ordered abelian groups with extra structure), ultrametric spaces, nonassociative algebra, polynomial identities, Hopf algebras, symbolic computation.


Current additional Members:
  • Mickael Matusinski, postdoctoral fellow.
  • Katarzyna Osiak, short term postdoctoral fellow.
  • Past additional Members:
  • Andreas Fischer, postdoctoral fellow, then sessional lecturer (2006-2008).
  • Tim Netzer, predoctoral fellow (May-Oct. 2007).
  • Igor Klep, postdoctoral fellow, (May-Sept. 2007).
  • Ron Brown (Hawaii), visiting professor, (Fall of 2006).
  • Pawel Gladki, PhD student (2003-2007).
  • Wei Fan, MSc student (2004-2006).
  • Ulrich Hermisson, postdoctoral fellow (2004-2005).
  • Antongiulio Fornasiero, postdoctoral fellow (2004-2005).
  • Mohamed El Bachraoui, postdoctoral fellow (2003-2004).
  • Svetlana Morozova, postdoctoral fellow (2003-2004).
  • Alexei Zenkov, postdoctoral fellow (2003-2004).
  • Jaka Cimpric (Ljubljana), NATO postdoctoral fellow, July 2001 - June 2003
  • Roland Auer, postdoctoral fellow, January 2002 - May 2003
  • Mikhail Kotchetov, postdoctoral fellow, September 2002 - July 2003
  • Alexander Nenashev, short term postdoctoral fellow.
  • Igor Klep (Ljubljana), PhD student. He was Cimpric's student.
  • Dejan Veluscek (Ljubljana), PhD student. He was Cimpric's student and visited our group for one month in 2002.
  • Matthias Aschenbrenner and Markus Schweighofer, short term postdoctoral fellows
  • Marcus Tressl (Leeds), Vincent Astier (Konstanz) and Olivier Piltant (Versailles), short term postdoctoral fellows
  • Last but not least, as a frequent guest of our seminar: Jonathon Funk, assistant professor.
  • Recent graduate students: Recent NSERC undergraduate Summer students:
    The centre is organizing the weekly

    The Algebra and Logic Seminar

    Together with other members of the Mathematical Sciences Group, we have organized the

    Cryptography & Coding Theory Student Seminar

    Our 2002 summer student Allison Marles has designed for us very detailed course outlines for courses on

    Cryptography and Coding Theory

    for students of mathematics and statistics and for students of computer science. One of these courses will be given as a special topics graduate course in the second term of this academic year. Thanks to Allison for her great work!


    Colloquium Talks 1997/1998 -- 1998/1999 -- 1999/2000 -- 2000/2001 -- 2001/2002 -- 2002/2003 -- 2002-2005

    Have a look at the September 2002
    On Campus News article
    about our research unit.

    Algebra and Logic Seminar: forthcoming and recent talks

    Algebra and Logic Seminar: past talks

    Past talks of our algebra and logic group guests 1997 - 2001

    Cryptography & Coding Theory Student Seminar

    The Valuation Theory Home Page

    Last update: April 16, 2009 --------- created and maintained by Franz-Viktor Kuhlmann